MAIL English Version

Rudolf Stiassny

1883 - 1943

The actor and director Rudolf Stiassny began his acting career at the Central Theater in Dresden in 1904. In the next years followed engagements in Regensburg and Berlin.

He already appeared in front of the camera in 1908. He impersonated a role in first Austrian movie at all - "Von Stufe zu Stufe" (08).
But it remained his only movie for the time being and he concentrated again to the theater.

He returned to the film business in 1918 but this time as a movie director.
In the next years he realised several silent movies like "Das Geheimnis des Goldpokals" (18), "Das missglückte Rendezvous" (18), "Wiedergefunden" (19), "Das kommt davon" (19), "Der Rebell" (19), "Der Narr seines Herzens" (19), "Menschen, die ihr Glück verspielen" (19), "Die Revolution in Krähwinkel" (20), "Narr und Tod" (20), "Ich hab's getan" (21) and "Die Stimme des Gewissens" (23).

In the sound film era of the 30s he took part again in few movies as an actor like "Einen Jux will er sich machen" (35) and "Die ganze Welt dreht sich um Liebe" (35).

When Austria was integrated to the German Reich Rudolf Stiassny had to flee to France in 1939 because he was a Jew. But he was arrested shortly afterwards and they handed him over to the Germans.
He spent several years in the camp "Le Bolurget-Drancy" before he was deported to Auschwitz in 1943. There he was murdered shortly afterwards.

Other movies from Rudolf Stiassny (Writer):
Narr und Tod (20)